free templates joomla

The Dirk J. Van de Kaa Award for Social Demography

This Award honours outstanding achievements by an individual scholar in social demography, and the interplay of population dynamics and social change.

The Award is dedicated to the ground-breaking contributions of Dirk van de Kaa to the study of population including his work on the Second Demographic Transition. It also celebrates his efforts to co-found and build the European Association for Population Studies, notably as its first President. This Award is generously sponsored by the Netherlands Interdisciplinary Demographic Institute (NIDI).

Rules of Play for this Award

  • Candidates are early/mid-career scholars with at least 5 years of experience after their PhD; candidates should be members of EAPS.
  • Candidates may nominate themselves for these awards. Candidates may also be nominated by at least five peers who are members of EAPS and who are residing in at least three different countries. The Jury may invite nominations as well.
  • Nominations should include a short (maximum one page) explanatory statement as well as a curriculum vitae of the nominee.
  • Nominations should be sent to EAPS and will be treated as confidential.
  • Nominations should be received by EAPS at least two months before a European Population Conference takes place.
  • Nominations are evaluated by independent Jury’s, one for each Award.
  • Awards are presented at each European Population Conference, which is organized every two years.
  • Laureates are expected to receive the Award at the European Population Conference.
  • The Award brings a Euro 1000 cash benefit and a certificate.


  • The Council of EAPS appoints an independent Jury of peers for this Award.
  • The Jury consists of at least three members, one of whom will act as Chair.
  • The Jury is free to organize its work as it deems appropriate and follows generally accepted scientific principles and criteria.
  • Jury proceedings are confidential. The Jury submits a written report to the EAPS Council indicating the successful laureate and the motivation of the Jury. This report is published at the EAPS website.

Jury for the Dirk J. van de Kaa Award 2014: Guillaume Wunsch, Kathleen Kiernan and Zsolt Spéder

EPC2014 | Hungarian Demographic Research Institute |